Parashant Adventure Continued – (will it ever end?)

So much has happened since the Parashant adventure that it’s starting to get fuzzy. I’m going to try and finish off the pictures and stories from this adventure today.

Not long after visiting the Mal Pais, we went and visited the historic Saw Mill site at the bottom of Mt. Trumbull. The lumber was hauled 80 miles by ox to St. George to build the famous Mormon Temple in St. George, The Christ Church of Latter-day Saints.

DSCN0162

I know this is an awful picture but I thought you may want to read what Eagle Scout Nathan Blake had to say about his great grandfather’s founding of the mill. From what I understand, the the stone monument was erected on the National Parks grounds without permission. But I have a feeling it will remain.

Here are a few pictures of what is left of the buildings on the Saw Mill grounds.

DSCN0163

DSCN0164

It doesn’t look like much does it? That’s because it isn’t nearly as interesting or exciting as what these buildings were on top of: an Ancient Paiute settlement. There is still plenty of relics left from their old establishment. They were master potters and stone tool makers. We found these shards in about 10 minutes.

DSCN0165

DSCN0167

DSCN0168

DSCN0166

After we took pictures and admired the artifacts, we put them where they belonged: right back where we found them. This is the policy in all the National Parks. All human artifacts (that is anything older than 50 years found on National Park Grounds – including old garbage) must remain exactly where it was found so that future people and generations can find and enjoy discovering them in their natural element as we did.

After this little adventure we headed up to Mt. Logan (the picture taken at the top of the blog was taken on Mt. Logan near Hell’s Hole). This was a bit of a higher elevation and contained a seemingly older ponderosa forest. Many of the taller ponderosas have been struck by lightning.

DSCN0170

You see how the burn mark corkscrews? That is typical – so I am told.

Here are a few shots of the views from where I slept.

DSCN0172

DSCN0174

DSCN0178

DSCN0177

DSCN0179

The forest on the other side of the lookout gets quite thick. Hardly anything grows on the forest floor because of the pine needles as well as the area being completely shaded by the big Ponderosas.

After settling, I wandered through the forest along the cliff edge to Hell’s Hole along the way I saw all kinds of amazing trees each with their own character. I guess I will share them now. I’m probably going to use some of these pictures for a short creative writing work in the future.

DSCN0181

DSCN0226

DSCN0227

DSCN0228

DSCN0229

DSCN0247

DSCN0249

I found a favorite and spent about two hours writing and reading with it.DSCN0219

DSCN0218

DSCN0220

DSCN0221

Comfy looking, right?

DSCN0255

I left the tree and went on to discover an odd little area where most of the trees were snapped and violently broken. I’m guessing it was some sort of wind gust.

DSCN0259

Here are some pictures of Hell’s Hole and, in the far beyond, the Grand Canyon.

DSCN0193

DSCN0194

DSCN0196

DSCN0198

DSCN0202

I tried to capture the sun as it sank slowly below the Canyons, Forests, Deserts, Rivers, Volcanoes, and Mountains; leaving this day behind and embarking slowly on a new.

DSCN0275

DSCN0261

DSCN0264

DSCN0266

I snuck away early the next morning from camp and visited my new tree friends from the day previous. I recorded these thoughts:

Shadows of the trees stretch at the wake, and all else too begins to rise. The first one follows. The second, not long after and after, after. The birds gleam and sing. The dew is dismissed and the needles crackle again. We count as one by one the peace is forgotten and the heat brings movement faster and faster to audible collision. What did you say to me? The breeze mixed with the leaves coos in laughter and those who have died start to shine at the top with what’s left of their remanence. We will all leave now. The trees that were lost by lightning and fire; who tell their stories with death scars, will dwindle and decay. We will descend the tops of this country and recede back to life and days relatively new to the continuous cycle of waking. I’ll be satisfied with the remanence and relics my memory has to offer. The little pieces still present in town will captivate my memory as they live side by side with the new. And all unfolds again. 

I’m out of time and I still haven’t finished this adventure. This past week besides my adventures at Cedar Breaks, Annie and I traveled through Escalante National Monument, Horseshoe Bend, The Grand Canyon, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell), the Narrows of Zion National Park, and Las Vegas.  This week I’m doing a back-country trip with a group of National Parks Employees in the Ash-down Wilderness.

There are many tales left to tell and I promise to tell more soon. I’m sorry I have been out of touch with so many of you. I’m very slow at responding to most things. Much Love to all!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

